NCOPOM 2018 National Conference on Processing of Materials
NIT Surathkal

Mangaluru Karnataka

19 September 2018 - 21 September 2018

NCOPOM 2018 National Conference on Processing of Materials

Event Description

Technical Deliberations during the Conference 
The  Department  of  Metallurgical  and  Materials  Engineering,  National  Institute  of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, in collaboration with the Surathkal Chapter of the Indian Institute of Metals, will be organizing a three-day national conference on “Processing of Materials” during 19-21 September 2018. The scientific program will comprise keynote and invited lectures, oral and poster presentations. The theme of the conference is set to address the rising demands on advanced materials by processing through promising, innovative and cost effective routes to develop advanced
materials for applications ranging from structural to automotive, aerospace and naval sectors. The prime focus will be on the areas of  
·Mechanical Processing 
·Chemical Processing 
·Thermal Processing 
·Thermo-mechanical Processing 
 ·Surface Engineering. 
The conference aims at bringing together the experts from academia, industries and research organizations and generating awareness on the recent scientific happenings in the arena  of  materials  processing  through  sharing  of  the  research  work  and  mutual interactions. An active participation of the faculty members, research students, scientists and researchers from the respective areas is solicited.
 Call for Papers 
Prospective authors are invited to present papers in coherence with the theme of the conference.  They  are  requested  to  send  the  extended  abstract  of  their  proposed presentation which should be based on their original research work. The deadline for submission of abstract (within 500 words) is 31 January 2018. Full papers will be invited after technical review and will subsequently be published in STM Journals. Acceptance of the paper and invitation for presentation would be communicated by May 8, 2018. If the number of papers exceed the time allotted for presentation, those papers will be displayed as posters. The best three papers from presentation and posters will be awarded prizes.
 The Institute 
National Institute of Technology Karnataka (NITK), Surathkal, is one of the foremost Government funded institutes of national importance in India. Since its inception in 1960 as Karnataka Regional Engineering College (KREC), the institute has established itself as a premier centre for imparting quality technical education and providing support for research and development activities. The institute has a long history of research spanning several decades in traditional and modern science and technology. 
The Department  
The Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering (MME), one of the oldest departments at NITK, was established in the year 1965.The Department owes a lot to the vision of its founder Head, Prof. T. Ramchandran. The Department is very active in research activities and keeps abreast with the state of the art developments in Engineering and Technology. The Department offers an undergraduate course (B.Tech.), accredited by the NBA and three courses at post graduate levels (M.Tech. in Process Metallurgy, Materials Engineering and Nanotechnology). The Department has an excellent academic atmosphere fuelled by advanced infrastructure including the TEM, SEM with EDS, FTIR, XRD, and Shimadzu UTM. It also has highly qualified, motivated and dedicated young faculty and hardworking staff. Metallurgical Engineering Association (MEA – an association of faculty and  students  of  the  Department)  regularly  conducts  technical  meetings,  workshops, industrial tours and visits for the benefit of student members. 
organizing Committee
 Patron: Dr. K. Umamaheshwar Rao
Chairman: Dr. A.O. Surendranathan Hon.
 Secretary: Dr. Anandan Srinivasan,
 Treasurer: Dr. Saumen Mandal
 Dr. Krishna Kant Prasad                                            Dr. Jagannatha Nayak 
 Dr. Kumkum Banerjee                                             Dr. Shashi Bhushan Arya    Dr. Ravishankar K.S.  Dr. M. Rizwanur Rahman                                         Dr. Subray R. Hegde   Dr. Preetham Kumar G.V. Dr. S. Varalakshmi Mr. Baskaran T.                       Dr. V. Hemant Kumar
Important Dates 
 Receipt of abstracts              January.31, 2018
 Receipt of full papers             Sept. 10, 2018
 Early bird Registration            July. 18, 2018 
Spot Registration              Sept. 19, 2018 
Full posters for display            Sept. 18, 2


Visit Fest Website...

Departments That Are Eligible for Participated In this Fest :
  • Metallurgy
Event Categories In This Fest:
  • Conference

Event Organizers Details

Prof. A.O. Surendranathan,

faculty convener,

contact no: 919343570597,


Facebook Link

Prof. Anandan Srinivasan,

faculty convener,

contact no: 919663054756,


Facebook Link

Event Departments :


Events by Departments